Welcome to Agricultural Education & Studies

The Department of Agricultural Education and Studies has as its focus the teaching and learning processes. All three elements of the land-grant philosophy - learning, discovery, and engagement - are part of the department's emphasis on the educational processes, and how these processes impact our clientele in a variety of agricultural settings.

News & Updates

Agricultural Studies BS Hybrid Online/Campus degree

The Agricultural Education & Studies Department and Western Iowa Technical Community College have formed a partnership to offer the first Hybrid Online/Campus (2-1-1) degree. Students will complete two years of course work at Western Iowa Technical Community College, one year of online courses from Iowa State University, and one year of on-campus courses to complete the Agricultural Studies Bachelor of Science degree. Contact Ben Chamberlain for additional information bchamber@iastate.edu or 515-294-4655.

Iowa State University AgOnline Teacher of the Year - Dr. Michael Retallick

Scofield and Retallick
Dr. Gaylan Scofield, Director of ISU AgOnline .................Dr. Michael Retallick, ISU AgOnline Teacher of the Year

The Iowa State University AgOnline Teacher of the Year award is sponsored by the Brenton Center for Agricultural Instruction and Technology Transfer. This award recognizes those who have made significant contributions to credit or noncredit courses through online teaching. Candidates are nominated by ISU AgOnline students and reviewed by the Brenton Center for Agricultural Instruction and Technology Transfer staff.

Michael Retallick, Agricultural Education & Studies is the 2014 winner. Previous award winners are Dr. Lester Wilson, University Professor, Food Science and Human Nutrition 2012 and Dr. Donald Lewis, Entomology 2013.


North Central American Association for Agricultural Education Conference Awards

Recent award winners from the North Central American Association for Agricultural Education conference held in West Virginia include:

Dr. Robert Martin
Outstanding Agricultural Educator for the North Central Region of the American Association for Agricultural Education

Outstanding Research Paper
Tom Paulsen, Ryan Anderson and Taylorann Smith won the Outstanding Research Paper Presentation Award. "Utilizing the Tuning Protocol to Generate Feedback During Lesson Plan Development: The Student Teacher's Perceptions".

Innovative Posters
Second Runner-up is titled “Incorporating Experiential Learning Principles into a Methods of Teaching Agricultural Mechanics Course to Develop Pre-service Agriculture Teachers’ Classroom Management Competencies”
Trent Wells & Dr. Ryan Anderson – Iowa State University

First Runner-up is titled “Introduction to and Exploration of SAE through a Weekend SAE”
Bryan Rank and Dr. Mike Retallick – Iowa State University

Second Runner-up is THE USE OF VIRTUAL WELDING SIMULATORS TO EVALUATE EXPERIENCED WELDERS Preston Byrd, Clemson University Richard T. Stone, Iowa State University Ryan G. Anderson, Iowa State University

First Place Innovative Poster is titled “Public Service Announcements: Spreading Farm Safety Awareness Through the Use of the Mobile Application, Glide”
Laurence Caudle, Dr. Thomas Paulsen, & Dr. Ryan Anderson – Iowa State University

Research Posters
First Runner-up is titled “Gender Influence in Agricultural Education Teachers Competence to Teach Electrical Skills”
Jaclyn F. Tweeten, Dr. A. Preston Byrd, Dr. Ryan G. Anderson, and Dr. Thomas H. Paulsen – Iowa State University

Iowa Association for Career and Technical Education (IACTE) Conference Awards

The Association for Career and Technical Education is the largest national education association dedicated to the advancement of education that prepares youth and adults for careers. Agricultural Education is a part of ACTE. Other groups include: Business Education, Health Education, Industrial Technology, and Family and Consumer Sciences Education. The IACTE Conference was held at the FFA Enrichment Center in Ankeny, Iowa. Faculty from AGEDS receiving awards are Tom Paulsen (Post secondary Teacher of the Year) and Ryan Anderson (Career Guidance Award).

Dr. Tom Paulsen

Dr. Ryan Anderson