Michael S Retallick

Professor, Department Chair
Head of Science with Practice
Mike Retallick

Recent Courses Taught

  • AgEdS 110: Orientation
  • AgEdS 116: Initial Field Experience in Agricultural Education
  • AgEdS 211: Early Field Experience in Agricultural Education
  • AgEdS 312: Science With Practice
  • AgEdS 550: Foundations of Agricultural Education


Research Focus, Agenda, and Interests

Study of experiential learning as it relates to formal education at both the secondary and higher education levels. Areas of study include early field experiences, internships/field experiences, teaching and learning in the classroom and via distance education, Science With Practice (SWP), and learning communities.


Research Agenda

  • Explore contemporary methods of utilizing experiential learning in the secondary classroom
  • Explore/Evaluate the role of reflection/critical thinking in experiential learning
  • Study the PERT (Preflection, Experience, Reflection, and Transfer) approach to experiential learning in formal education


Areas of interest related to experiential learning and life-long learning (L3)

  • Reflection
  • Critical thinking
  • Questioning
  • Cognition and Metacognition

Peer Reviewed Publications


Selected Professional Service and Leadership

Iowa State University

  • Iowa State University Faculty Senate, Senator representing AgEdS
  • Center for Excellence in Learning and Teaching (CELT)
    • Senior Teaching Partner
    • Preparing Future Faculty Mentor
  • Gamma Sigma Delta, The Honorary Society of Agriculture, President, 2011-2012
  • Faculty Senate Committee on Academic Standards and Admissions, 2009-2010
  • Carnegie Classification for Community Engagement Committee, 2008
  • Freshmen Honors Program, Mentor
  • University Academic Advising Committee, 2005-2006

College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

  • Science With Practice, Program Director
  • CALS Faculty Senate Caucus
  • CALS AgOnline Learning Advisory Committee, ISU College of Ag and Life Sciences – Inaugural member
  • Dean’s Global Advisory Committee, ISU College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Inaugural member
  • College Curriculum Committee
  • Louis M. Thompson Academic Advising Academy
  • Academic Affairs Committee, Chair 2005-2006 
  • George Washington Carver Internship Program, Mentor
  • Recruitment Committee 
  • College Liaison for Articulation and Recruitment
    • Hawkeye Community College, 2006-Present

Agricultural Education and Studies Department

  • Graduate Admissions and Recruitment
  • Curriculum Committee, Chair 2012-2015
  • Departmental Scholarship Selection Committee, Chair 2001-2014
  • Faculty /Staff Awards Committee, Chair, 2015-2016
  • Teacher Education Committee
  • AgEdS Governance Document Committee, Chair, 2009-2015

Professional Committees and Offices

  • Iowa Governor’s STEM Advisory Council, Support of Agricultural Sciences Workgroup
  • Association of Career and Technical Education Research, President, 2013-2014
  • Journal of Agricultural Education,
    • Editing and Managing Board Member, Chair 2014
    • Editorial Review Board Member
  • CASE (Curriculum for Agricultural Science Education)
    • Executive Board
    • Advisory Committee
    • CASE Institute Mentor
    • Lead Teacher, Agriculture, Food, and Natural Resources Curriculum
  • Experiment Station Committee on Organization and Policy (ESCOP), Social Sciences Subcommittee, North Central Region and Agricultural Education Representative, Vice Chair/Chair-elect, 2015-2017
  • The National Council for Agricultural Education
    • Teacher Education SAE Instructional Unit Development Committee
    • SAE Renewal Committee, member
  • Academy of Career and Technical Education, Board Member
  • Indian Hills Community College, Land-Based Business/Entrepreneurship Advisory Committee Member
  • Des Moines Area Community College, Agri-Business Advisory Committee member


  • Roland-Story Community School District, Story City, IA, School Board Director, 2011-2015; President, 2014-2016
  • City of Story City, IA, Zoning and Planning Commission
  • Iowa Sports Foundation, Iowa Summer Games Commissioner 
  • Gamma Sigma Delta, President, 2011-2012
  • Faculty Senate Committee on Academic Standards and Admissions, 2009-2010

Agricultural Education and Studies Department

  • AgEdS Governance Document Committee, Chair, 2009-2013
  • Curriculum Committee, 2001- Present, Chair, 2012-2013
  • Teacher Education Committee, 2002- Present
  • Departmental Scholarship Selection Committee, Chair, 2001- Present

Awards and Recognitions

  • Teacher Mentor Award, Region III, National Association of Agricultural Educators, 2015
  • Teacher Mentor Award, Iowa Association of Agricultural Educators, 2015
  • Distinguished Service Award, Iowa FFA Association, 2015
  • AgOnline 2014 Teacher of the Year, ISU Brenton Center for Agricultural Instruction and Technology Transfer, 2014
  • Outstanding Alumni Award, College of Business, Industry, Life Science and Agriculture, University of Wisconsin – Platteville, October, 2013
  • New Teacher Award for Excellence in College and University Teaching in Food and Agricultural Sciences, Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities and United State Department of Agriculture, November, 2012
  • Outstanding Early Career Agricultural Educator, North Central Region of the American Association for Agricultural Education, 2012
  • NACTA Teacher Fellow, 2012
  • Louis M. Thompson Academic Advising Academy, ISU College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Inaugural member, 2011
  • ISU Award for Early Achievement in Teaching, Iowa State University, 2011
  • Early Achievement in Teaching Award, ISU College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, 2011
  • Teaching Award of Merit, North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture, 2009 and 2011
  • Honorary Member of the ISU Farm Operations Club, 2011
  • Honorary Chapter FFA Degree, Roland Story Community School District, 2009
  • Outstanding Advisor, ISU College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, 2009
  • Wakonse Fellow, Iowa State University, 2008
  • Iowa State University Research Excellence Award, 2005
Area of Expertise: 
Agricultural Education
B.S. (1993) Agricultural Education, University of Wisconsin - Platteville
Master of Agribusiness (2002), Kansas State University
Ph.D. (2005) Agricultural Education, Iowa State University
Phone: 515-294-4810 FAX: 515-294-0530
201 Curtiss Hall
Iowa State University
Ames, Iowa